Travel Diary: Kinabalu National Park

Hey guys! I’m really sorry for not being active on my blog, but I’m back now.

 

During the last school holidays, my family and I decided to go on a lil’ trip to Kinabalu national park, Sabah. Before our road trip to the park, we stopped by central market to buy some local snacks and fruits to munch on during the car ride. Then we were off!

The car ride to Kundasang (where national park is) took about two hours which my brother and I spent snacking and sleeping…obviously! On the way up, we stopped by Pekan Nabalu which is a small market that has the most delicious bananas ever. I mean seriously, who would say no to a bunch of small and sweet bananas? So our family (me, my lil’ bro, dad, mum, grandpa) being the fruit lovers we are bought a year’s worth of bananas. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a tad bit but still, we bought A LOT. Apart from that, I bought a traditional Kadazan(their local tribe) bracelet to add to my collection whereas my brother got himself a drum. After that, we headed to Kinabalu National Park. We hiked for a bit and came across a cute stream. Being the weird and adventourous me I am, I decided to make some friends — a trusty ol’ stick. He made the hike soooooo much easier and gave me a lil’ bit more confidence. Before that I was really paranoid that I might slip and fall to my death. Tragic, I know. We also visited Timpohon gate(it’s basically the checkpoint before you start your climb up Mt. Kinabalu) and saw many climbers that had just descended from their long and tiring hike down the Majestic mountain. After that, we were getting a bit tired so we decided to start heading to the place where we were spending the night — Mesilau.

We stayed in a little private pine cabin up in Mesilau which looked very cute and cozy. My brother and I helped carry our belongings while my parents prepared dinner. At about 7pm, dinner was ready. We enjoyed a delicious pot of steaming hot curry served with slices of homemade bread then had some bananas for dessert. Later in the night, my bro and I performed a dance for my parents and grandpa with my bro on the drum and me dancing to the beat. My dad also made some weird howling noises which actually made the whole performance even better! We also played some cards and ate cookies. Yes, I am fully aware that we just had dinner. After a while, Jo and I were getting tired so it was lights off for us. Soon after, my parents and grandpa followed us and we were all sound asleep.

The next day, I woke up early in the morning to watch the sunrise with my family. It was breathtaking. Sadly, all of us were caught in the moment and forgot to take pics. Following that, my bro, mum and I went for a short walk around Mesilau which was very relaxing and not to mention refreshing. I must say, running in Mesilau was AWESOME! The temperature was just right and being the athlete I am, I loved it! After having a hearty breakfast which consisted of oats, bananas and strawberries, we made our way to Poring Hot Springs. It is a small place with rotten egg pools and more hiking trails. My bro and I wanted to see some Rafflesias too, but since they are very rare, we had our fingers crossed the whole journey. Fortunately for us, there were two Rafflesia Keithiis in bloom. We did not even have to trek for long. You can probably imagine how ecstatic we were! The guide who brought us to see the flowers was very knowledgeable too so we learnt a lot of facts about the Rafflesia. Since I love biology, I was more than happy for him to just take his time and explain all the different information to us.

I would have loved to adventure some more but being a growing teenager with a crazy fast metabolism rate, my stomach started grumbling. Thus, we headed to Ranau(a small town near Kundasang) for lunch. We stopped at a Hakka food stall. Although the food was not the best, it was relatively clean compared to the other stalls in the town so yep. Just like the saying “all good things must come to an end”, our epic adventure in Kundasang was over and we slowly made our way back to Kota Kinabalu in our rental car.

 

That’s all for this post, I hope you guys had a great week and look forward to many new and exciting posts to come.

 

-radiantelegance

Leave a comment